HomeBasketballSerbia, Last Seeded For The Basketball World Cup

Serbia, Last Seeded For The Basketball World Cup


Related stories


WORLD OVERVIEW ( Associated Press)

The participants in the Basketball World Cup have already been announced after Serbia secured the last ticket for the tournament this summer.

Serbia defeated Great Britain 101-83 on Monday. With this victory, two-time NBA MVP Nikola Jokic will have the opportunity to participate in the World Cup that will take place in the Philippines, Japan and Indonesia.

Serbia’s victory means Belgium, the last team that could have qualified, has been eliminated.

Spain is the defending champion of the tournament.


With Serbia, qualification means that ten of the top 11 teams in the world rankings will participate in the tournament. The exception is Argentina (4), silver medalist in 2019.

Spain (1), United States (2), Australia (3), France (5), Serbia (6), Slovenia (7), Lithuania (8), Greece (9), Italy (10) and Germany (11) they progressed.

The four worst teams to advance according to the ranking are Ivory Coast (43), Egypt (55), South Sudan (63) and Cape Verde (66).


Cape Verde, Sudan, Georgia and Latvia play their first tournament.


A total of 23 World Cup participants from 2019 will return in this year’s tournament, led by the United States and Brazil – who have played in all 19 editions.

Spain has participated in the last 11 World Cups. Puerto Rico in the last 10.

The other 19 countries that are back are: Angola, New Zealand, France, Greece, Australia, Lithuania, Serbia, Iran, Dominican Republic, Philippines, Montenegro, Jordan, Venezuela, Japan, Ivory Coast, Germany, China, Italy and Canada.

Finland, Slovenia, Egypt and Mexico return after playing their last World Cup in 2014. Lebanon returns after last playing the tournament in 2010.


The group stage – with eight groups of four teams – will take place between August 25 and 30. The second round will run from August 31 to September 4 and the final will take place in Manila on September 10.


Each country will be assigned to a preliminary round of four teams on April 29. The top two teams from each group advance to the second round.

Continue reading the story


The World Cup will be a tournament for seven teams to qualify for the next Olympic Games in Paris 2024. Of these, two will come from the Americas region, two from Europe, one from Africa and one from Asia and one from Oceania.

The other five Olympic tickets will be decided this summer by a qualifying tournament, with 40 countries invited to the tournament.

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here