HomeCricketNetherlands announce squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Netherlands announce squad for T20 World Cup 2024


Related stories


The Netherlands have announced their squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, with a mix of seasoned veterans and promising young talents set to represent the Dutch side in the prestigious tournament.

In a surprising move, experienced campaigners Roelof van der Merwe and Colin Ackermann have been omitted from the squad, making way for emerging talents like left-arm spinner Tim Pringle, pace sensation Kyle Klein, and explosive opener Michael Levitt.

Levitt, who grabbed headlines with a scintillating century against Namibia in a T20I tri-series held in Nepal earlier this year, showcased his power-hitting prowess with a remarkable knock of 135 runs off just 62 deliveries, including 11 boundaries and 10 towering sixes.

Scott Edwards, the dynamic wicket-keeper-batsman, will continue to lead the Dutch side as their captain, with star all-rounder Bas de Leede adding depth to the squad’s capabilities.

The Netherlands is slated to face challenging opponents like South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Nepal in the group stages of the T20 World Cup. Their campaign kicks off on June 4 against Nepal at Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas.

Netherlands squad: Scott Edwards (c, wk), Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Daniel Doram, Fred Klaassen, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, ⁠⁠Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh, Viv Kingma, Wesley Barresi

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories