HomeBasketballEight Teams Selected for the 2023 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament

Eight Teams Selected for the 2023 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament


Related stories

Montana football team to play a record eight home games in 2025

MISSOULA — The Montana Grizzlies will play eight home...

NFL Columnist Legend Peter King Talks Bill Belichick, Court Storm

Former New England coach celebrates with former quarterback Tom...

BetMGM bonus code NEWSWEEK150: Start with $150 guaranteed NBA bonus

Sports Betting Dime provides exclusive sports betting commercial content...

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Eight Big Ten schools have been selected to compete in the 2022 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship, it was announced Sunday on the NCAA Men’s Basketball Selection Show on CBS. Maryland, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern, Penn State, and Purdue will all be taking part in this year’s tournament. All games will be televised on CBS Sports, TBS, TNT or truTV beginning on Tuesday night.
This marks the fourth consecutive year that at least Eight Big Ten teams have been selected for the tournament. Only 14 times has a conference received at least eight bids to the tournament, with the Big Ten accounting for four of those, each in the last four tournaments.
Purdue secured the Big Ten’s automatic qualifier into the tournament and a No. 1 seed in the East region after topping Penn State in the Big Ten Tournament championship. The Boilermakers won their second tournament title after claiming their conference-leading 25th regular season crown. Purdue will open the tournament on Friday in Columbus, Ohio against the winner of a First Four game between Fairleigh Dickinson and Texas Southern.
Indiana earned a No 4 seed in the Midwest after finishing third in the Big Ten during the regular season and will face Kent State on Friday in Albany, N.Y.
Michigan State and Northwestern claimed No. 7 seeds, with the Spartans slotted in the East and the Wildcats in the West. Michigan State will face USC in Friday’s opening round in Columbus, while Northwestern will meet Boise State on Thursday in Sacramento, Calif.
No. 8 seeds Maryland and Iowa will open tournament play on Thursday, as the Terrapins will face West Virginia in South region action, while the Hawkeyes will meet Auburn in the Midwest region, with both games slated to take place in Birmingham, Ala.

Illinois was selected as a No. 9 seed and will face Arkansas on Thursday, while Big Ten Tournament runner-up Penn State earned a No. 10 seed and will meet Texas A&M on Thursday. Both games are slated to be played in Des Moines, Iowa.
Big Ten Conference (bigten.org) is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching, and public service. Founded in 1896, Big Ten Conference has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness, and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten Conference institutions will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,800 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. Big Ten Conference sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse since 2013.

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here