HomeBasketballBig Ten Conference Captures Multiple National Women’s Basketball Awards

Big Ten Conference Captures Multiple National Women’s Basketball Awards


Related stories


DALLAS (March 30, 2023) – The Big Ten Conference was center stage when numerous national women’s basketball awards were presented on Thursday.
Leading the way was Iowa junior guard Caitlin Clark, who was selected as both the Associated Press Player of the Year and the recipient of the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Wade Trophy, as well as a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award (to be presented April 3). Indiana head coach Teri Moren was chosen as the AP Coach of the Year and the Kay Yow Award winner.
One of Moren’s players, senior forward Mackenzie Holmes, joined Clark and Maryland senior guard Diamond Miller on the WBCA Coaches All-America Team. Holmes was also tapped as a Wooden Award finalist on Thursday.
Clark’s twin national player of the year honors on Thursday followed her selection as the Naismith Trophy winner. It places the West Des Moines, Iowa, native in position to be become the first unanimous national player of the year in Big Ten women’s basketball history — along with the Wooden Award, the other remaining honor is the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) Ann Meyers Drysdale Award that will be presented Friday morning.
Clark is the second Big Ten player to receive either the AP Player of the Year or the WBCA Wade Trophy. Former Iowa All-America post Megan Gustafson captured the 2019 AP honor, while former Purdue All-America guard Stephanie White was the Big Ten’s other Wade Trophy recipient in 1999 when she led the Boilermakers to the national championship.
The combined AP honors for Clark and Moren represent the first time in Big Ten history the conference swept both major awards from the national wire service. Moren is the sixth Big Ten recipient of the AP Coach of the Year award and second in three seasons (Maryland’s Brenda Frese was the 2021 honoree).
Moren also garners the first individual national awards in Indiana women’s basketball history. She is the first Big Ten coach to receive the Kay Yow Award, which is presented annually to a Division I women’s basketball coach who embodies a winning spirit while displaying great character on and off the court personified by the award’s namesake, the late former NC State head coach.
The Big Ten led all Division I conferences with three players on this year’s WBCA Coaches All-America Team. Clark earned her third consecutive All-America citation from the WBCA, while Holmes and Miller were first-time selections. Along with the three team members, five other Big Ten standouts received honorable mention All-America honors from the WBCA — Grace Berger (Indiana), Leigha Brown (Michigan), Makira Cook (Illinois), Monika Czinano (Iowa) and Taylor Mikesell (Ohio State).
Clark and Iowa have advanced to the Hawkeyes’ second NCAA Women’s Final Four and first since 1993. Iowa (30-6) will take on South Carolina in the second NCAA national semifinal at approximately 9:30 p.m. (ET) Friday live on ESPN from the American Airlines Center in Dallas.
Big Ten Conference (bigten.org) is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching, and public service. Founded in 1896, Big Ten Conference has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness, and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten Conference institutions will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,800 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. Big Ten Conference sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse since 2013.

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here