HomeCricket3 Indian-origin cricketers included as Netherlands name squad for ICC T20 World...

3 Indian-origin cricketers included as Netherlands name squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024


Related stories


Netherlands will play their first match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 against Nepal on June 4.

The Netherlands have announced their squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024 on May 13. The marquee tournament will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the USA in the month of June. 

Veteran wicket-keeper batter Scott Edwards, who led the Dutch side in the ODI World Cup 2023, has been named as their skipper for the upcoming ICC tournament.

In a shocking move by the Netherlands, they have omitted two experienced all-rounders from the 15-member line-up. Roelof van der Merwe and Colin Ackermann were the two omissions from the squad. In place of them, the Dutch selectors have opted to go with opening batter Michael Levitt, pacer Kule Klein, and left-arm spinner Tim Pringle.

Vikramjit Singh, Teja Nidamanuru, and Aryan Dutt are the three Indian-origin cricketers who have found their place in the Netherlands’ 15-man squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. Apart from them, Bas de Leede, Paul van Meekeren, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd and Wesley Barresi also have been added to the Dutch squad.

It’s a well-balanced team: Head coach Ryan Cook

Netherlands head coach Ryan Cook said that they have picked a well-balanced side, and they are confident that all the selected players will perform well in the T20 World Cup 2024.

“We have been able to select a well-balanced team which we are confident will be able to perform in the conditions against the opposition we face in the US and West Indies,” head coach Ryan Cook said.

The Dutch head coach further added that all the selected players have been training well. Ryan praised the fact the fact that the side has performed well in the last two World Cups that they have been part of.

“All of the players have been training well and have been involved in the recent ProSeries with some exciting performances showing the growing depth and quality in Netherlands cricket. We have managed to perform admirably in the last two World Cups we have participated in and will be determined to rise to the challenges we face ahead to reach the next round of the tournament,” Cook added.

Netherlands squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Scott Edwards (c, wk), Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Daniel Doram, Fred Klaassen, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, ⁠⁠Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh, Viv Kingma, Wesley Barresi

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories